Saginaw Youth Council Officers & Contacts

Youth Council

Saginaw Youth Council:
Advisor:   Joyce Harvin
Advisor:   Rhonda Butler


President: Daniel Webster

Vice President: Jeehan Mannan

Secretary: Emmanuel Pickens

Treasurer:  Michiel R. Boone



What Is ACT-SO?
ACT-SO is a yearlong enrichment program designed to recruit, stimulate, and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African-American high school students.  The program relies on the dedication and commitment of community and business leaders who volunteer as mentors and coaches to promote academic and artistic excellence.  Through this collaborative effort, participating students develop the confidence and skills needed to excel in school and in life.

What Are The Categories Of Competition?
ACT-SO currently includes 26 categories of competition in the sciences, humanities, business, and performing and visual arts.

ACT-SO: Today's Youth...Tomorrow's Legends. "If you believe you can do it, then...ACT-SO!"   

More than 260,000 young people have benefited from initiative's development & inspiration since its inception  Learn More at:




Saginaw's ACT-SO Winners

1988  Khary Bridgewater “ Gold, Energy

1990  Khary Bridgewater “ Gold, Physics: Energy

1991  Khary Bridgewater “ Gold, Physics: Energy

1992  Akira C. Shelton “ Bronze,   Music:Instrumental   Contemporary                                      

 Jason Williams “ Silver, Original Essay

1997  Eleluhue Crudup “ Gold, Playwriting

1998  Hubert Alexander “ Bronze, Physics: Energy                                                                               Eleuhue Crudup II “ Silver, Playwriting

2001  Ryan McBride “ Bronze, Playwriting

2002  Ryan McBride “ Gold, Playwriting

2003  Ryan McBride “ Silver, Playwriting

2004  Shaneditha Butler “ Gold, Architecture                                                                                    Quintisha Walker “ Silver, Biology/Microbiology

2005  Quintisha Walker “ Gold, Biology/Microbiology                                                                    David McMillon “ Gold, Engineering - Retired

2006  Quintisha Walker “ Gold, Biology/Microbiology                                                                           David McMillon “ Gold, Engineering “ Retired                                                                              Morgan McMillon “ Gold, Music: Instrumental Classical                                                                      Jessica Reedy “ Gold, Music: Vocal Contemporary

2007  Alexandrya Bardell “ Bronze, Biology/Microbiology                                                              David McMillon “ Gold, Earth and Space Sciences                                                                            Christen Robinson “ Gold, Engineering                                                                                               Morgan McMillon “ Bronze, Music: Instrumental Classical

2008  David McMillon “ Silver, Earth and Space Sciences                                                                 Christen Robinson “ Gold, Engineering                                                                                                  David McMillon “ Silver, Mathematics                                                                                                 Nolan Ford “ Gold, Medicine and Health

2009  Erika Trigg “ Gold, Earth and Space Sciences

2010  Jordan Drake “ Bronze, Chemistry                                                                                       DMontae Jones “  Gold, Engineering                                                                                                DMontae Jones “ Silver, Music Composition                                                                                   Sharnae Ruth “ Gold, Vocal Music Contemporary

2011  Sevonna Brown “ Gold, Poetry                                                                                                   Jordan Drake “ Silver, Engineering                                                                                                         Alliecia Butler “ Silver Entrepreneurship                                                                                               Jamal Yearwood “ Silver, Biology/Microbiology                                                                                   Andrea Pugh “ Bronze, Earth and Space Science

2012  Andrea Pugh “ Gold, Earth and SpaceScience                                                                           Lauren Ingram “ Silver, Mathematics                                                                                                Jordan Drake “ Bronze, Music: Instrumental Classical

2013  Tyrek Brown”Gold, Physics

2014  Tyrek Brown”Silver, Computer Science                                                                                     Tyrek Brown”Bronze, Physics

2015  Tyrek Brown”Bronze, Computer Science

2016  Cameron Terry”Gold, Computer Science