

Saginaw Branch NAACP

100 Years Fighting the Battle for Justice and Equality 1919-2019

About the Bernice Barlow Scholarship



The Bernice Barlow NAACP Scholarship is available to graduating high school seniors from Saginaw, Bay, or Midland County. This scholarship honors a very dedicated and courageous individual who served as the leader of the Saginaw Branch for thirty years.

Bernice Barlow, born Bernice Lowery, was the oldest of James and Estelle Lowery's 10 children. She graduated from Saginaw High School in 1945 and holds an M.A. from Michigan State University. Ms. Barlow taught at Potter Elementary and Merrill Park Elementary schools before retiring from

Jerome Elementary in 1996 after 32 years of teaching.

Ms. Barlow became active in the NAACP at a young age. She served as assistant secretary and secretary before becoming president in 1968. She held the presidency for 30 years before stepping down in 1998. She participated in the March on Washington in 1963 and the Poor People's March in 1968. She also attended the funeral of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Summary of Scholarship Requirements

Key Qualifications

- Scholarship applicant must have a minimum 2.0 GPA
- Awarded to graduating high school senior
- Applicant, parent or legal guardian must be a current member of the Saginaw NAACP Branch
- Applicant must be a resident of Saginaw, Bay or Midland counties
- Student must pursue an undergraduate degree, vocational training, or two-year degree
- Scholarship recipient must be full-time enrollment

Other Evaluation Criteria

Demonstrated Leadership ability; community and/or school involvement in activities that encourage racial harmony in the Saginaw community; a written essay; recommendations; and financial need.

NOTE: THIS SCHOLARSHIP IS ADMINISTERED BY THE SAGINAW COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

1 Tuscola Ave – Suite 100B Saginaw, MI 48607 (989) 755-0545

Roster of Bernice Barlow Scholarship Recipients

1999 – Christopher J. Allen

2000 - Danielle E. Tate

2001 – Brandon M. Cork

2002 – RaShonda L. Reeves

2003 – Justin R. Kilgore

2004 - Shaneditha L. Butler

2005 – Andrea Dorsey

2006 – Chelena R. Eli

2007 - Rose A. Wilson

2008 - Alexandrya Bardell

2009 – Ashton S. Powell

2010 - Sparkle S. Jackson

2011 - Alliecia L. Butler

2012 - Adam Richardson

2013 – Haley Hall

2014 - Lauren Thomas

2015 – Dejorry McKenzie-Simmons

2016 – Aareale Little

2017 - Kyra Mitchell

2018 – De;um Owen-Robinson

2019 – Kevin Owen-Robinson